Anna to the Max

the epitome of quirkiness

Make fun if you want, but we’ll see who’s laughing when the Bolsheviks make a comeback. January 17, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Anna @ 4:27 pm

It’s my last semester of college and I have only electives left to take (except for a dreaded computer course I’ve managed to avoid for nearly four years. Puke.) Thus, I decided to take some fun classes: Human Geography, as I mentioned yesterday, to satisfy the part of me that says “You fool! You should have been an Anthropology major all along!” Then there’s Chinese, which I started last semester. I have a study date with a fat stack of notecards this weekend to gear me up for round two. But I needed another 3 credit morning class, and when I looked at my options the choice was obvious: why, Russian Language and Culture, of course! What could be more enjoyable than memorizing characters Monday, Wednesday, and Friday and mastering the Cyrillic alphabet Tuesday and Thursday? According to the many raised eyebrows I’ve received this week when questioned about my schedule, I have a very different idea of “fun” than my fellow sojourners of learning.

However, while it may seem ludicrous to add these languages to the fragments of Spanish leftover in my brain from highschool and my early college career, I have no doubt that all this knowledge will someday come in handy. Consider the following scenario:

What if Communism resurfaces and Russia and China join forces in an effort to gain world domination? Honey, that elementary French class you took ain’t gonna do you a lick of good. But I, I will be an asset to the underground freedom movement because I will have the ability to pose as a spy and decode messages. Don’t worry, I’ll pass along hints to you, my faithful readers. Together we will resist the red army!

Please feel free to swing by my class this very March for my presentation on Moscow. It’s sure to be an interesting, helpful guidto the old and lovely Russian city.

 

3 Responses to “Make fun if you want, but we’ll see who’s laughing when the Bolsheviks make a comeback.”

  1. SarahRuth Says:

    um, all I got was “Hell”, just saying.
    privet mean hell??????

  2. Mom Says:

    Oh, of course. It’s an anagram for “leather venom lip”! Very useful during a communist resurgence.

  3. quineta Says:

    hello! Or should i say privet, i am a perfectly unsuspicious faithful reader. adios!


Leave a Reply

