Anna to the Max

the epitome of quirkiness

Homeless for a day December 19, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Anna @ 4:46 pm

You know you’re a serious blogger when an unfortunate circumstance arises and your first thought is “Sweet! This’ll make a great post.”

The past two days Bloggy Mommy and I have been working our keisters off to get 120 gifts wrapped and ready for some kids in a neighboring state. To get some extra motivation we decided to broadcast ourselves live via webcam from the ministry office. Between cutting, taping, and yelling “Yes! Only 23 more!” we had several almost-meltdowns when we ran out of blue spotted wrapping paper and scotch tape. But there’s nothing like belting out “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer” to a group of complete strangers watching from around the world to lift your spirits. I also tried to sell the viewers some of our leftover t-shirts the printer goofed up. Oh yes. If you’re hankering for a hideous army green and hot pink t-shirt I can hook you up.

We finally finished the gifts and loaded them in the car shortly after 11 pm, then went our separate ways. It was then that I realized my house key was locked inside the house and that Rachael Roomie and Roomie #2 (who for some reason has remained nameless) were both out of town.

Luckily Bloggy Mommy had not gone to bed yet and was more than willing to offer me her spare room. I awoke this morning relishing the thought of getting a key from my landlord so I could go home and brush my teeth.

My landlord is on vacation is in Florida and my teeth are still fuzzy. (I refuse to buy myself another toothbrush because I have 11 of them, also safely locked inside the house. It’s a long story). My hair is clean, though, because I came back to the office this morning and washed it in the sink with handsoap. I contemplated driving to Target and blowdrying it under the hand dryers, but decided to just blot it with some paper towels.

Fortunately, being temporarily homeless gave me several empty hours to actually begin my Christmas shopping, and wandering around the mall all afternoon has made me start counting down the minutes until I get to leave for work. Yippy skippy.

 

3 Responses to “Homeless for a day”

  1. I’m sorry, but it’s still funny.

  2. The Gaurav Says:

    Behold!! the “serious blogger”

  3. SarahRuth Says:

    Oh Anna, you are my hero.


Leave a Reply

