Anna to the Max

the epitome of quirkiness

Major props to Willy July 17, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Anna @ 2:49 pm

A friend recently wrote a post totally dissing Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. (The old movie, not the Johnny Depp version). This “friend,” alias Bloggy Mommy, also recently shoved me in front of a microphone and forced me to deliver a very impromptu speech to the local chapter of the Kiwanis Club, so I think I have every right to publicly counter her argument. That movie was a fundamental part of my childhood and I’ll stick up for it or my name isn’t Anna to the Max.

Allow me to point out the highlights. For some reason, as a wee bairn one of my favorite parts was when Charlie’s mom was at her laundry business stirring clothes around in a vat of boiling water. I don’t know why I liked that scene better than, oh, I don’t know, the bit about the room full of candy complete with life-sized gummy bears, whipped cream mushrooms, and a chocolate river. Perhaps it’s because that’s when she sings the “Cheer up, Charlie” song, my favorite musical number in the entire film. I often sing my own rendition, “Cheer up, Shelley,” whenever I’m hankering for a hard smack on the squamous suture from my little sis.

Oh, and raise your hand if you don’t enjoy watching Veruca Salt get exactly what she deserves. That’s what I thought.

And the lickable wallpaper? And the part where Augustus Gloop’s dad eats the microphone? And the everlasting gobstoppers? And the kooky chemistry teacher?
Classic, classic, classic.

 

3 Responses to “Major props to Willy”

  1. Shelley Says:

    what is a squamous suture? are you really hankering for a smack when you sing that?

  2. Shashank "why so serious" Shrestha Says:

    in my honest opinion, the older movie was superior to the johnny depp revision… BUT Batman: The Dark Knight is superior to every movie made!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. The Gaurav Says:

    “Burp Charlie”


Leave a Reply

