Anna to the Max

the epitome of quirkiness

Happy Times July 12, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Anna @ 1:41 pm

I feel I owe you all an apology for being so inconsistent about Foreign Phrase Friday. I’m sorry. I shall try to do better. Not only was yesterday (supposed to be) Foreign Phrase Friday, it was also Foreign Film Friday at our apartment. We had stirfry and watched a heartwarming Chinese film about a blind girl who is abandoned by her father, abused by her stepmother, manipulated and cheated by a compulsive liar, and at the very end winds up on the street with nowhere to go. Ironically the title of the movie is “Happy Times.” Yeah, not so much…

This morning I jumped out of bed at 7:45 and threw on my psychedellic peacock t-shirt and my favorite blue and navy basketball shorts because, being the first Saturday of the month that is not part of a holiday weekend naturally means that it is 50% OFF DAY AT GOODWILL!!!!!

If you don’t understand why that last phrase was in bold, just forget it. Really. There’s no hope for you. 

The scent of bargains wafted through the air when I threw open the door. I shoved several old ladies aside and booked it to the far right corner of the store to see if my beautimous mirror was still there. It was. I bought it. I’m happy. The end.

But except for not really, because our thrift store adventures continued as we hit up six or seven other 2nd hand stores over the next three and a half hours. Some were pretty sketchy, not gonna lie. I just don’t see how some of these places stay open what with fire codes and all. But hey, safety matters but a little when it comes to buying furniture and saving some coinage. Cheese. Dinero. Know what I’m sayin?

 

5 Responses to “Happy Times”

  1. Dad Says:

    Remind me to tell you about two foreign films I watched this week, “Mongolian Ping Pong” from Mongolia and “Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress” from China. You’d like them, I think.

  2. Karen Says:

    I have to find out if our Goodwill does this too. Being a Goodwillaholic and all. I’m so bad I shop there every time I get paid. Not just shop – BUY. Maybe my husband and kids would stop making fun of my addiction to thrift stores if I went when prices were half off.

    Probably not.

  3. Lauren Says:

    Hey! I love the blog!!!! It is sooo neat! You always make me smile 🙂 🙂 🙂

  4. shashank "i take a picture everyday" shrestha Says:

    happy times was not a happy movie… that’s all I’ll say…

    and as I have no credence or solicitude to the statement in bold, i shall not accept that there is no hope for me…

  5. zO0mz%m Says:

    well, your life makes me feel so… um… I dont know any word to explain this, but like cozy? or something. I mean, I miss you. Actually I was thinking about GW the other day and hoping to go. so when you go some weekend next, let me know. I mean, after I come back. dont email or facebook me saying “I’m going now.” but I wonder if GW can servive the sale coz, they are already cheep and gonna be 50% off, right? how sweet they are.


Leave a Reply

