Anna to the Max

the epitome of quirkiness

Oh, you lucky, lucky children June 6, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Anna @ 1:23 pm

Readers. Dear, dear readers. Do you know what today is? I don’t think you do.

Today, my friends, is Foreign Phrase Friday. What the heck is Foreign Phrase Friday, you ask?

I’ll tell you.

From now on, each Friday I will teach you a random phrase in a random (often rather obscure) language.

Here’s today’s phrase:

“Protein and fiber are the bomb!”

And here’s today’s phrase in Icelandic:

“Eggjahvítuefni og fiber ert the sprengja!”

Pretty random, right? I bet you’re thinking, “Gee, Anna to the Max, thanks for teaching me this random phrase, but why not teach me something I might actually need to know how to say?”

Well hold it right there, because for every seemingly useless phrase I’m going to give you a hypothetical situation in which the phrase would, in fact, save your skin.

I, for one, know that if I were ever stranded in a grocery store in Iceland, all I would need to do is whisper the aforementioned phrase into the ear of the nearest shelf-stocker person and I would promptly be taken to my beloved Fiber One bars. (Heads up, readers, this is not the last time you’ll hear of my love affair with Fiber One. Or Kashi Go-Lean crunch. They really are the bomb- er, sprengja).

I bet now you’re thinking, “How exceedingly wise you are, A to the M. Thank you, kind and gentle teacher, for allowing us to glean from your vast acres of wisdom.”

Please, don’t mention it.

 

4 Responses to “Oh, you lucky, lucky children”

  1. mindfart-man Says:

    allow me to respond in an equally obscure (to american at least) manner… in Nepali… “यो पोस्ट साह्रै अनौथो छ । अन्ना तु द माक्याक्सले अनौथो कुरा गर्छे । ”

    feel free to speculate…

  2. Gaurav Says:

    I didn’t quite get it, but starting a whole new segment is probably just the thing needed for a budding blogger.

  3. I am so glad to see that this has finally arrived. 🙂

  4. D G Says:

    Kinda funny!


Leave a Reply

